Skip to main content
Filling the UK’s Health & Social Care skills gap

Filling the UK’s Health & Social Care skills gap

The number of people in the UK with health problems that require health and social care is growing. Over the next 20 years the percentage of people over 85 will double, and this will bring a commensurate rise in people with complex health needs. There will therefore be a greater need than ever for qualified Health and Social Care workers. Chancellor Philip Hammond announced in the 2017 budget that he was going to give a cash boost of £2 billion to the Care sector, which came as some small relief after years of cuts.

The need for more trained Health & Social Care staff is acute, and there is guaranteed work for newly qualified applicants. Many training centres exist with the purpose of funnelling people into the sector, starting with the most basic (and mandatory) training. In addition CPD is mandatory for existing staff.

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) specifies courses that care companies must provide for their staff. As of 2016, qualifications seen as mandatory to work in the Care sector include:

  • Health & Safety
  • Fire Safety
  • Equality, Diversity & Human Rights
  • Infection, Prevention & Control
  • Manual Handling
  • Safeguarding Adults
  • Safeguarding Children.

Typical optional / additional mandatory training includes:

  • Food Hygiene/Safety
  • Complaints Handling
  • Dementia & Learning Disability
  • Lone Working Awareness
  • Mental Health Awareness
  • Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards.

As Care workers’ careers progress they will need to acquire specific knowledge to maintain their CPD (Continuing Professional Development). This is far broader and can include, for example:

  • Autism Awareness
  • Dementia
  • Anaphylaxis
  • Asperger Syndrome
  • Bullying and Harassment
  • Data Protection
  • Diabetes Awareness
  • Legionnaire’s Awareness
  • And much else.

Romford-based Verrolyne Training serves East London and Essex in Health & Social Care training. It provides TQUK – accredited NVQ qualifications at levels 2,3 and 5. The centre provides both classroom-based and online training courses.